Tour de Yorkshire 2016: full route and timings unveiled | Calendar – ITV News

The start and finish times for the Tour de Yorkshire have been revealed, along with the ceremonial start routes.

Millions of spectators are expected to line the route of the three day men’s race and one day women’s race which run between Friday 29th April and Sunday 1st May.

Stage One will begin at 11.50am in the Saturday Market square in Beverley on Friday 29th April. The riders will head out towards the railway station via Toll Gavel and past County Hall on Cross Street. Then it’s on to Armstrong Way, past Flemingate Shopping Centre, before heading towards the spectacular Beverley Minster. Riders will then head out of the town on Lairgate, passing St Mary’s Church before heading towards the racecourse to the official start line.

Key points along the route include:

Bubwith at 1.06pm – the first sprint point along the route
Tadcaster at 1.50pm
Knaresborough at 2.22pm
Greenhow Hill at 3.02pm – the first King of the Mountain
Grassington at 3.20pm
Settle at 4.06pm – crossing the finish line for the first time

Crowds came out for the Tour de Yorkshire 2015 Credit: Press Association

Stage Two marks an important milestone for the Tour de Yorkshire as spectators will be treated to not one but two hugely significant races.

The Women’s Tour de Yorkshire will begin in Otley, home of women’s road World Champion Lizzie Armitstead, at 8.15am. Starting from Boroughgate in the town centre, the teams will head up Westgate before turning left onto West Chevin Road and Burras Lane. They will then head back towards town, passing All Saints Parish Church, before travelling down Bondgate and Crossgate. Then it’s on to Nelson Street before heading towards Pool Road, where the racing will begin in earnest.

The men’s race will tackle exactly the same stage from Otley to Doncaster in the afternoon, starting at 2.20pm.

Key points along the route include:

Harewood Bank, near Harewood House – King of the Mountain.
East Rigton at 8.56am
Pontefract at 10.02am
Conisbrough Castle at 11.03am (4:37pm for men) – climb
Doncaster at 11.59am (5:23pm for men) – finish line

The start line in Bridlington last year Credit: Press Association

Stage Three will begin at 11.10am on Sunday in Captain Cook’s hometown of Middlesbrough.

From the start point at Centre Square and Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art), the riders will ride past the historic Gazette newspaper building on Borough Road before heading into Teesside University’s new Campus Heart. They will then head down Linthorpe Road to

via Tour de Yorkshire 2016: full route and timings unveiled | Calendar – ITV News.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s